How To: Delete ABS Modulator, Install Proporting Valve

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 RareBreedZ

RareBreedZ
  • Former ZR2 owner Subscribed
  • 1,750 posts

Posted 12 October 2011 - 08:32 PM

ABS delete on a 1998 ZN4 ZR2 4WD S10 Std Cab, Short Box.

This is my first write-up/how-to ever so please PM me if anything is out of line or wrong or you think I should add or delete something.

This write up is to document the ABS Deletion on my S10, I don't know if this will work for other years and models. I will document every fitting and length of brake line as best I can. The truck is stock, it also has 197K+ miles on the stock lines, the calipers have been replaced about a year ago.

Before I continue, I would like to say that when I started this project, I was a total newbie to hard brake lines and didn't know a thing about correct fittings. Even worse was being unable to flare lines. Throughout this project I made 10+ trips to 3 different auto parts stores, the biggest obstacle was flaring. I had the auto-parts people flare three ends for me to try and show me, but they all failed and leaked. So the moral of the story is: Buy per-flared lines(The PN's listed will work perfect), and use adapters to complete the deletion if you cannot flare ends perfectly, or know someone who can. I also replaced my MC because I had bought it months ago but never installed it.

Pile of wasted brake lines due to bad flares:

Decided how far you want to go, and plan for disasters: